There is a strong chance that you will be involved in a car accident at some point during your life. The roads of Florida are busy all the time and accidents happen to even the most careful of drivers. However, being involved in an accident when you do not have a licence is most likely to lead to you being penalized in some way, and we’ll talk about that later on.
There are many reasons you may be caught in an accident when you don’t have a valid licence. You may have overlooked a renewal date or perhaps you are an immigrant and unaware of the laws regarding drivers’ licences. Either way, the law is the law and there will be litigation against you.
This doesn’t mean that you cannot claim for injuries or damage, but you will need to use an experienced law firm with the knowledge and expertise in what can be a complex area of the law. When you are searching the internet for an auto accident attorney near me, you need to be looking at attorneys that deal specifically with auto accidents in your location. You want to make sure that you are getting the best possible advice because this could make or break your ability to claim on insurance. You need the most knowledgeable people in the industry to help you to realize what comes next. Let’s talk about what you need to do if you have an accident and are found not to have a licence.
What To Do If You Don’t Have a Licence
In the immediate aftermath of the accident you should get in touch with a local law firm that deals with people charged with driving without license in Florida. They will be able to instruct you as to what to say and do and will arrange a meeting to talk to you about the next steps.
The police and the legal authorities will likely want to prosecute but a lawyer can not only help mitigate the sentence but make sure you gain access to any compensation that you might be entitled to. They will be discreet and professional at all times as they have vast experience in dealing with people in this situation. Do not give any statements until you have legal representation.
Potential Penalties in Florida
Whether you have an accident or are simply found to be driving without a licence in Florida there are many penalties you may be subject to, including the following:
- Driving without a valid licence may result in a $500 fine or 6 months in jail, but Florida does offer pre-trial courses that once undertaken may see the charges dismissed or removed from the record.
- Driving on a suspended licence renders you a potential repeat offender and you may accrue further charges and fines.
- In Florida, a driver in charge of a car must have their licence in their possession. Not doing so results in a $10 dismissal fee if you can prove to the court that you had a licence at the time of the incident.
- Driving with a revoked licence results in very serious consequences that may involve jail time and additional time added to the revocation period.
Remember to check your licence is up to date and on your person before you set out on your next journey and you will be safe from the strong arm of the law.