As NASCAR left Talladega, many drivers were extremely glad to escape the chaos that usually ensues when the restrictor plates are added to the engines.  But, even without those plates, sometimes the sport goes into chaos.  This week, NASCAR goes to the Great Plains in the middle of the country, an area that just recently got hit with major tornadoes and severe weather.

Normally the damage is to the cars on the track, not to the lives of the fans that travel to it.

But, one thing the sport is able to do is bring the people together and make them feel part of a bigger family, one that makes sure to help out their brothers and sisters when it is needed.

There are no plates on the cars when racing happens at this track, and the spoilers are back to their very large height and length.  But, it's not uncommon for the Kansas Speedway to have it's own tornado of action.  It's happened in years past, and this year may have a more spectacular look and feel.  When Kansas wanted to go under the lights for the first time, a little schedule adjustment would occur and everyone agreed to the change.  So, for the first time, the track that is in an area where Dorothy and her friends went on the search for Oz gets to have it's own Saturday night battle.

The writers are hoping to avoid their own tornadoes, unlike what happened a week ago.  Here's who they have decided to win the 5-Hour Energy 400:


Misan Akuya:  Aric Almirola

I still remember that race here where he had the best car.  Why not?

Rob Blount:  Joey Logano

No reason.

James Broomhead:  Jimmie Johnson

No reason.

Billy Fellin:  Jimmie Johnson

Dude just owns Kansas. Under the lights won't be any different. I'll take the No. 48.

Michael Hirshbein:  Kyle Busch

His bad luck here must run out at some point.

Kara Martin:  Matt Kenseth

Why not?!

Ryan O'Hara:  Matt Kenseth

No reason.

Dustin Parks:  Carl Edwards

He was definitely dejected after his day at Talladega ended early.  But historically this place has been good to him, along with his Roush teammate Biffle.  But, since Biffle hasn't won yet, I'm going with the 99.

Patti Rodisch:  Matt Kenseth

No reason.

Aaron Rosser:  Jimmie Johnson

No reason.

Sal Sigala Jr:  Jeff Gordon

No reason.

Rob Tiongson:  Jeff Gordon

Alright, I'm still sticking with the 24 team but why not?  Gotta think with his performances on the intermediates that Jeff Gordon and his Axalta team are going to eventually score that first win of 2014 so I see it happening at Kansas...under the lights, no less!


Standings after Talladega:

Kara Martin (359) Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished 26th - 2

Dustin Parks (351) Kevin Harvick finished 7th - 1

Ryan O'Hara (346) Matt Kenseth finished 37th - 3

Michael Hirshbein (343) Kyle Busch finished 12th - 1

Rob Tiongson (311) Jeff Gordon finished 39th - 1

Sal Sigala Jr (307) Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished 26th - 2

Patti Rodisch (304) Jeff Gordon finished 39th - 1

Rob Blount (299) Tony Stewart finished 43rd - 1

Billy Fellin (292) Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished 26th - 0

Aaron Rosser (291) Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished 26th - 1

Misan Akuya (262) Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished 26th - 0

James Broomhead (243) Jimmie Johnson finished 23rd - 1


Final Remarks:  This season has seen it's share of night racing, both already scheduled and a couple races that turned into a night time festivity.  But, this track has never seen the big series race at night.  It's something new, meaning teams are unsure of how these cars will handle on this track when the lights are on compared to when the sun is hitting it.

It will be a new kind of twister in Kansas, one that has 800 horsepower in 43 cars.  Only difference, this kind of twister creates excitement, not carnage.  The green flag waves on FOX Saturday night shortly past 7 p.m. ET.


Summary of Picks:

Jimmie Johnson-3

Matt Kenseth-3

Jeff Gordon-2

Aric Almirola-1

Kyle Busch-1

Carl Edwards-1

Joey Logano-1